Screen Shot 2021-12-10 at 1.52.35 AM.png
  • Instagram

烏班圖 是多地點特定的公共藝術裝置,它實踐了 Ubuntu 前提 I Am, We Are 的本土哲學。烏班圖 展覽將 CSULB 校園重新編排成肥沃的土地,以調和其“白人至上主義的過去”,並進一步重新設想一個公平的、 包容和多樣化的未來。 CSULB 站點位置是 LA 5 廣場設有Gathering提案 QR 碼、美國印第安研究跨部落鼓手 (AISITD) 的擊鼓儀式和 KCAM 展館放映 人類言論自由牆 ( HFOSW ) 視頻投影,以及 烏邦圖紀念碑


UBUNTU展覽要求我們認識到每個人生存的重要性和價值,這樣我們才能在我們居住的社區中認識自己 Nauri 戒律 Umuntu Ngumuntu Ngbatu 的意思是“一個人因他人或通過他人而成為一個人”。 Ubuntu 的哲學表明“非洲人不是一個粗獷的人,而是一個生活在社區中的人”。在當今世界,只有通過培養團結的社區,飢餓、孤立、匱乏、貧困和任何新出現的挑戰才能倖存下來,因為社區相互關心。納爾遜·曼德拉 (Nelson Mandela) 將 Ubuntu 描述為“一種哲學,它構成了一種相互關聯的真理、一種生活方式,它建立了一個開放的社會。”  Ubuntu 和美國印第安土著思想之間的共同點之一是培養有意識的社區的重要性。意識本質上尋求在周圍環境中認識自己,這種相互關聯的真理與這兩種教義產生共鳴,這表明我們應該考慮我們正在做的事情是否會促進或賦予我們周圍的社區權力並幫助其改善。

 

 蒐集

通過創建一個包容性的空間來紀念多元化的 CSULB 社區和通瓦加布里埃利諾人, 聚會為 LA-5 廣場帶來了一種紀念、歡樂和運動的感覺。廣場的重新設計將包括一個大型繩索雕塑、一幅代表Puvungna 的 Tongva Gabrielino 人的壁畫、本地植物景觀、來自 CSULB 人口的當地藝術品以及一個將包括來自 CSULB 和長灘不同社區的代表的藝術過程。這 收集鏈接連接到交互式提案網站。

 

CSULB 最初建立在被割讓的 Puvungna 土地上,與這片土地的管家 Gabrielino、Tongva、Juaneno 和 Acjachemen 人民/民族有著一段動蕩的歷史。 Puvungna 意為“聚集地”,它是一個古老村莊的遺址、一個墓地,也是美洲印第安神 Chinigchinich 的神聖出生地。幾十年前 在 CSULB 之前,“淘金熱”定居殖民者強奸了普文納的自然資源,例如49er Prospector Pete (PP)。直到 2020 年,備受爭議的 49 PP 一直是大學的偶像標誌,正如這位前吉祥物和按照他的肖像豎立並在 LA 5 廣場展出的希臘羅馬青銅雕像所展示的那樣。 Puvungna 的人民開始了從 CSULB 的文化和校園中清除 PP、他的形像以及他的遺產的漫長而艱鉅的法律程序。普文納 (Puvungna) 已成為該地區土著人民進行精神慶祝活動的聚集地。今天,一個空置的基座坐落在 LA5 廣場的頂部,它現在似乎是對土著加布里埃利諾、通瓦、胡埃內諾和阿賈切門人/民族鬥爭的紀念。 

 

集會旨在紀念和紀念神聖土地 Puvungna 的過去、現在和未來的居民。 Gathering重新構建了 LA5 廣場的敘事,以將 Puvungna 的惡劣歷史與美國印第安研究部落間鼓手的治療和擊鼓儀式相協調。美洲印第安人的鼓聲被 Gabarelino-Tonvga 人視為地球的心跳。從歷史上看,部落間鼓樂一直是聚集社區進行治療和慶祝的一種方式,以有意識地提高社區的振動。 AISITD 慷慨地接受了邀請,於 2021 年 12 月 1 日下午 5 點在洛杉磯 5 廣場舉辦了一場治愈和擊鼓儀式。現在空置的底座是一個刻有 QR 碼的站點位置,鏈接到Gathering提案。 

KCAM 展館,前身為UAM ,是 UBUNTU展覽的第二個場地。羅納德和西爾維婭哈特曼牆以人類言論自由牆為特色 ( HFOSW ) 2018 年 9 月 19 日的表演視頻。 HFOSW干預主義的無聲表演將正念作為一種“存在狀態”,在社區中開啟關於藝術家勞倫伍茲美國紀念碑秘密機構審查的被動對話 2018 年秋季展覽。伍茲紀念碑解決了與黑人生活有關的警察暴行問題,後來被藝術家“暫停”,試圖與博物館和機構就解僱博物館館長金伯利邁耶展開恢復性司法程序。 圍繞美國紀念碑的爭議成為表演的靈感來源,以展示無聲抗議如何有效地增強言論自由的思想。哈特曼牆在 2021 年 12 月 1 日下午 4 點至晚上 7 點播放HFOSW 的視頻。 

UBUNTU紀念碑是一個混合媒體鐵雕塑,安裝在 KCAM 展館的南角,毗鄰哈特曼牆。這座紀念碑是為了紀念在異化過程中喪生的先祖和烈士的氣息、力量和活力。 Ubuntu 的理念表明,我們通過相互認識自己,為地球上的所有人設想了一個公平、包容和多樣化的公共場所。讓我們花點時間記住美國有超過 3720 萬人生活在貧困中,其中 417,281 人沒有住房,其中 297,108 人是少數民族。 2020 年美國人口普查顯示,1959 年至 2019 年黑人的貧困率最高,為 19.5%,2020 年沒有顯著變化。在洛杉磯,27.1% 的黑人居民生活在貧困線以下。雖然最近的美國人口普查估計黑人佔人口的 12%,但遺憾的是,黑人佔在任何情況下被警察殺害的人數的 26.4%。黑人是警察致命使用武力的重要受害者,其比率幾乎是一般人口的兩倍。在美國,黑人受到滲透到他們生活方方面面的系統性壓迫的不成比例的影響。空心雕塑紀念碑上刻有“我是我們是”的咒語,與土著的感知相呼應,因此我們可以有意識地認識到我們所居住社區的共同點。

Screen Shot 2021-12-10 at 1.52.35 AM.png
  • Instagram

UBUNTU  is a multi-site specific public art installation that practices the indigenous philosophy of Ubuntu’s premise I Am, We Are. UBUNTU exhibit re-textualizes CSULB campus into fertile ground for reconciling its’ white supremacist past and further re-envision an equitable,  inclusive, and diverse future for all. CSULB site locations are the  LA 5 Plaza featuring the Gathering proposal QR code, a drumming ceremony by American Indian Studies Inter-Tribal Drummers (AISITD), and the KCAM Pavilion screening the human freedom of speech wall (HFOSW) video projection, and the UBUNTU Monument.


UBUNTU exhibit asks us to recognize the importance and value of each human beings’ livingness, so we might recognize ourselves in the communities we inhabit The Nauri precept Umuntu Ngumuntu Ngbatu means "a person is a person because of or through others." Ubuntu's philosophy suggests an "African is not a rugged individual, but a person living within a community." In today's world, it is only through cultivating a community of solidarity that hunger, isolation, deprivation, poverty, and any emerging challenges can be survived because of the community's concern for each other. Nelson Mandela describes Ubuntu as "a philosophy constituting a connecting truth, a way of life, which establishes an open society." One of the commonalities between Ubuntu and American Indian indigenous thought is the importance of growing a conscious community. Consciousness inherently seeks to recognize itself in its surroundings, this connecting truth resonates with both teachings suggesting we should consider whether what we are doing will enable or empower the community around us and help it improve.

Gathering brings a sense of commemoration, joy, and movement to the LA-5 Plaza through the creation of an inclusive space that honors the diverse CSULB community and the Tongva Gabrielino people. The plaza's redesign will include a large rope sculpture, a mural representing the Tongva Gabrielino people of Puvungna, native plant landscaping, local artworks from the CSULB population, and an artistic process that will include representatives from CSULB and Long Beach’s diverse communities. The Gathering link connects to the interactive proposal website.

 

Originally founded on ceded land of Puvungna, CSULB has had a tumultuous history with the stewards of the land, the Gabrielino, Tongva, Juaneno, and Acjachemen peoples/nations. Puvungna translates to "the gathering place," which is the site of an ancient village, a burial ground, and the sacred birthplace of the American Indian deity Chinigchinich. Several decades ago before CSULB, "gold rush" settlement colonizers raped Puvungna of its natural resources, such as 49er Prospector Pete (PP). Until 2020, the contentious Forty-niner PP was an idolized emblem of the university, as shown by the former mascot and the Greco-Roman bronze statue erected in his likeness and displayed at the LA 5 Plaza. The people of Puvungna began the long and arduous legal process of irradicating PP, his figure, and his legacy from the culture and campus of CSULB. Puvungna has served as a gathering place for spiritual celebration by the indigenous peoples of the region. Today, a vacant plinth sits atop the LA5 Plaza, which now seems to function as a memorial to the struggles of the indigenous Gabrielino, Tongva, Juaneno, and Acjachemen people/nations. 

 

Gathering attempts to honor and commemorate the past, present, and future inhabitants of the sacred land, Puvungna. Gathering re-frames the narrative of LA5 Plaza to reconcile the egregious history of Puvungna with a healing and drumming ceremony by the American Indian Studies Inter-Tribal Drummers. American Indian drumming sounds are considered the heartbeat of the planet by the Gabarelino-Tonvga people. Historically, Inter-Tribal Drumming has been a way to gather the community in healing and celebration to raise the community’s vibration consciously. The AISITD generously accepted an invitation to facilitate a healing and drumming ceremony at the LA 5 Plaza on December 1st, 2021, at 5 pm. The now-vacant plinth is the site location for an engraved QR code linking to the Gathering proposal. 

The KCAM pavilion, formerly the UAM, is the second site location of the UBUNTU exhibit. The Ronald and Sylvia Hartman wall features the human freedom of speech wall (HFOSW) performance video from September 19th, 2018. The HFOSW interventionist silent performance employed mindfulness as a "state of being" to open passive dialogue in the community about the covert-institutional censorship of artist lauren woods AMERICAN Monument exhibition in fall 2018. Woods monument addressed issues of police brutality related to black lives and was later "paused" by the artist in attempts to open a restorative justice process with the museum and the institution regarding the firing of the museum director Kimberli Meyer. The controversy surrounding AMERICAN Monument became the inspiration for the performance to demonstrate how a silent protest can effectively empower ideas of free speech. The Hartman wall features the HFOSW's video on December 1st, 2021, from 4 pm to 7 pm. 

UBUNTU Monument is a mixed media iron sculpture installed at the south corner of the KCAM pavilion adjacent to the Hartman wall. The monument honors the breath, strength, and livingness of the ancestors and martyrs who lost their lives while being Othered. Ubuntu’s philosophy suggests WE envision an Equitable, Inclusive, and Diverse COMMONPLACE for all of Earth’s people by recognizing yourself in each other. Let us take a moment to remember the over 37.2 million people living in poverty in the United States, where 417,281 of those people live without housing, and 297,108 of those houseless persons are minorities. A 2020 US census identified Black people to have the highest poverty rate of 19.5 percent from 1959 to 2019, with no significant change in 2020. In Los Angeles, 27.1% of Black residents live below the poverty line. While a recent US Census estimated that Blacks make up 12% of the population, Blacks sadly account for 26.4% of those killed by police under all circumstances. Black people are significantly the victims of lethal use of force by police at nearly twice the general population's rate. Black people in the US are disproportionally affected by systemic oppression that permeates every aspect of their lives. A mantric “I AM WE ARE” is inscribed throughout the hollow sculpture monument and echoes the indigenous percept so WE may consciously recognize our commonalities in the communities WE inhabit.